The Byzantine Museum of Veria is housed in an industrial building of the early 20th century, the water-powered flour mill of Stergios Markos. Since 2002, the year when its first permanent exhibition was inaugurated, it systematically promotes, through its permanent museological program but also its periodical exhibitions, the rich cultural reserve of Veria of the Byzantine, post-Byzantine, and Ottoman times.
Thanks to the exemplary and Europa Nostra award-winning restoration of the museum building, which was based on the study of P. Theologidou, the four-story watermill of Markos unfolds the history, life, and art of Veria from the time of Constantine to and the liberation of the city by the Ottomans in 1912, with the museum building being the last chronological exhibit of this long journey.
The building is rectangular, stone, and four-story, a typical example of the architecture of industrial buildings of this period and its similarity with other buildings of the time in the wider area and Europe is obvious. The two Ottoman houses in the courtyard of the Byzantine Museum, built on the tower and the southeastern walls of Veria, ceased to be inhabited by their successive occupants just thirty years ago.