At the verdant foothills of Pieria, with an imposing view of Aliakmonas, the historic stone monastery of Timios Prodromos has been operating since the 14th century. Known as the “Skete of Veria” as the monastery was built in a Holy Skete that existed on the site since the 9th-10th century, visitors are fascinated by the nature that surrounds it and the landscapes that the great river created with the dense mountain. The impressive entrance with the large, wooden medieval gates, the stone fountain, the relief of the buildings as they join the slope, and the fresh air give visitors a warm welcome.
The spiritual work of the Monastery refers to the lives of many Saints and monks who have visited it over the centuries, as its glory in the years following its founding attracted many personalities of Christianity. The monastery was set on fire in 1822 by the Ottomans, it was rebuilt in 1835 when the all-carved iconostasis was made. Only the chapel of the Transfiguration of the Savior, built in the 16th century, which is the "jewel" of the monastery, survived the disaster.
Remains of several Saints are kept in the Monastery, while visitors can admire many works of hagiographic art, some of which have been saved from the period before the destruction of 1922. Its katholikon is also remarkable, in the type of the three-aisled basilica, with magnificent columns made of trunk trees, great representations, and imposing images.