Inside the stunning natural beauty of Enipeas Gorge, through which passes the most popular mountaineering path of Olympus, the old monastery of Saint Dionysios was built. The monastery suffered several destructions, especially in 1828, when it was set on fire by the Ottomans, and during the German Occupation, when it was blown up by the Nazis, because it housed Resistance fighters. After the damage it suffered in 1943, the monks created the new, today's Monastery at a lower altitude.
The monastery was founded by Saint Dionysios in 1542, 17 kilometers from Litochoro, at an altitude of 900 meters. It gained a huge reputation for the work that’s been done there, while the founder himself practiced in a mountain cave, a short distance from the Monastery. His tomb is located in the Katholikon, while restoration works aimed to highlight the monument, through numerous visitors pass daily on the hiking route from Litochoro to the place "Prionia".