On the east bank of Strymonas, on a hill above the archeological site of Amphipolis, the Marmariou Tower oversees the ancient bridge over the river since 1367, according to its inscription. Built with ancient materials, due to the economic poverty of the time, it belonged to the Constantinople officials, brothers Ioannis Megas Primikirios and Alexios Megas Stratopedarchis. Apart from its use as an observatory of the wooden bridge, it was also storage of the crop of the neighboring settlements.
From the original building one floor is kept covered, while on the second floor only one of its walls. The monument is easily accessible from the highway and for visitors the reward is, in addition to the experience of seeing a Byzantine tower up close, the amazing view of Amphipolis and Strymonas.